Board of Directors


Jeff Brands


Jeff Brands is a franchisee partner in Taco John’s of Iowa (TJIA). TJIA operates 23 restaurants in the Des Moines metro area and surrounding central Iowa communities. He has been involved with the Taco John’s system for over 23 years. Jeff currently serves on the Taco John’s Supply Chain Committee. He began his career as a CPA with Deloitte and was a partner in a local CPA firm prior to joining TJIA. Jeff and his wife, Leanne, have four married daughters and one granddaughter. He enjoys golfing, researching and learning new things and spending time with his wife, family and friends.

Ted Miller

Ted Miller

Vice President

Ted started with Taco John’s in 1985. His ownership group operates 12 Taco John’s and 3 Five Guys Burgers and Fries locations, giving Ted a unique perspective of the franchise business decisions from another point of view. Over the past 32 years he has worked with some of the best people in the brand, serving on the Menu, Operations, and Technology committees. He’s currently serving his second year on the APC and participating on the Digital Subcommittee. He's passionate about the Taco Johns brand and making the best possible decisions to continue to help us grow.

Brian Fuder Headshot

Brian Fuder

Vice President

Brian began with Taco John’s in 1989 and is an owner-partner of 3 restaurants (2 in MN and 1 in ND). Brian has served as a member of the Ad Production Committee (APC) (2011-present). He served as Vice-Chairman in 2017 and is currently the Chairman of the APC. He also led the Digital Sub-Committee (2014-2017). He’s also been a member of the Technology committee for the past 5 years. He has been active in local communities serving on the Fergus Falls Youth Baseball Association, Fergus Falls CVB board, and various church-related committees.

Brett Itterman

Brett Itterman

Vice President

While Brett officially became involved with Taco John’s in 2015, he has been around the brand his entire life. He leads Taco John’s largest franchise group and is currently affiliated with 30 locations, giving him a broad understanding of our business – both our strengths and our weaknesses.

Brett has served on both the Advertising Production Committee (APC) and Supply Chain Committees since 2016 and is currently active in 10 Co-ops across six (6) states. Brett is also involved with the HuHot Mongolian Grills Franchise. This multi-brand experience gives him a unique perspective of the business decisions facing Taco John’s and the ATJF. Brett believes Taco John’s is poised for significant growth and considers the Association an active partner to ensure we all benefit and achieve that growth.

Brett is involved with several community organizations, including the Dakota Medical Foundation.

Aaron Holthaus

Aaron Holthaus

Vice President, Secretary

Aaron’s group joined Taco John's in 2004 by purchasing an existing restaurant in Buffalo, Minnesota, and agreeing to a multi-unit deal for the construction of four more restaurants in the next five years. He is joined in his company by his brother Josh and father Tom. Today, they have nine locations in central Minnesota, from just outside the Twin Cities into the St. Cloud market area. As a SuperAmerica® Franchisee, they also have three convenience store locations.

Aaron has a degree in economics from the University of Minnesota, and enjoys working with our people and building new restaurants. Aaron and his wife Jess have five children who keep them busy traveling to different sporting events. Family fishing trips are a favorite pastime. Their oldest daughter works in the restaurants and would someday like to own a store of her own!

Jody Schindler

Jody Schindler

Executive Director

Jody’s career with Taco Johns began in the late 1980’s as the Marketing Director for the Twin Cities Taco John’s franchise group. After leaving that position, Jody worked with Taylor Made Golf in the sales office, Verizon Wireless with the Network Engineering Team and ran a successful healthcare consulting company for 20 plus years. Jody and her husband, Pat have six children and two grandchildren. Jody still loves being involved in the local community serving on several church-related committees, sporting event associations, coaching volleyball and participating in local running events.

2022 Convention JB

Jeff Bremer, Sr.


Jeff Bremer began his journey with Taco John’s 17 years ago as an operating partner and for the past 11 years, has been a Franchisee of 10 Taco John’s restaurants in the Nebraska and Iowa markets.

Over the past years with Taco John’s, Jeff has served on the Operations Committee, as a Member of the ATJF, on the Ad Production Committee (APC) as a Vice Chair for 6+ years and is currently Chairman of the APC. He has also served as Vice President of Operations and Director of Operations for Burger King, Taco Bell, Little Caesar’s and LJS. Jeff’s oldest son, Jeff, Jr., is currently working the Taco John’s business as a Director of Operations. Jeff’s family is also involved in the PIP Printing Franchise.

Jeff has three children and four grandchildren and is an active member of the First Responder’s Foundation, the Chris Bremer Foundation, and several other non-profit organizations. He enjoys playing golf and spending time with family and friends.

Interested in board service?

Here's how the process works:

  • There are six board members elected to serve 3-year terms.
  • Two seats are open for election each calendar year.
  • Annual nomination process – October 15ththrough November 15th each year
  • Franchisees in good-standing with the ATJF and TJI are eligible for nomination.
  • Candidates can be self-nominated.
  • Election process – November 15ththrough December 15th each year
  • Election confirmed during December board meeting.
  • Newly elected directors begin their 3-year term in January of the new year.
  • During the January board meeting, the board of directors nominates and elects a president for the current calendar year.
  • Directors can serve two consecutive 3-year terms, but must be re-elected to the second term.
  • Directors are not eligible for re-election after serving two 3-year terms due to term-limit policy.
  • Directors must lay out one full year to be eligible to run for re-election.

ATJF directors are asked to participate in regularly scheduled monthly teleconference meetings and typically attend one or two personal meetings (requiring travel) with representatives of Taco John’s International, Inc. (TJI) each year. Additionally, each director will be assigned a certain liaison responsibility for a TJI department and/or a franchisee committee for communications purposes along with responsibilities in connection to the annual National Franchisee Convention.